Home || Search || About us || Blog || Contact us || Other book sites

Name: Elantris

Author: Brandon Sanderson
Year: 2005


Original Rating:

Popularity: 7.2
Genres/categories: Fantasy, Science fiction

Purchase/research links:

From the publisher (source: The Internet Book List):
Elantris: gigantic, beautiful, literally radiant, filled with benevolent beings who used their powerful magical abilities to benefit all the people of Arelon. Yet each of these godlike beings had been an ordinary person until touched by the mysterious transforming power of the Shaod. Then, ten years ago, without warning, the magic failed. Elantrians became wizened, feeble, leper-like creatures, and Elantris itself dark, filthy, and crumbling. The Shaod became a curse.

Arelon's new capital city, Kae, crouches in the shadow of Elantris, which its people do their best to ignore. Princess Sarene of Teod has come to Kae for a marriage of state with Crown Prince Raoden, hoping - based on their correspondence - also to find love. She finds instead that Raoden has died, and she is considered his widow. Both Teod and Arelon are under threat as the last remaining holdouts against the imperial ambitions of the ruthless religious fanatics of Fjordell. Sarene decides to make the best of a sad situation and use her position to oppose the machinations of Hrathen, a Fjordell high priest who has come to convert Arelon and claim it for his emperor and his god.

But neither Sarene nor Hrathen suspects the truth about Prince Raoden's disappearance. Taken by the same strange malady that struck the fallen gods of Elantris, Raoden was secretly imprisoned within the dark city. His struggle to create a society for the wretches trapped there begins a series of events that will bring hope to Arelon, and perhaps even reveal the secret of Elantris itself.

This book is part of the "Elantris" series.
Here are some other books from this series:
The Emperor's Soul
, Original Star Rating:
, Adjustred Star Rating:
, Pop Rating:3.3/10

Similar books:

by Brandon Sanderson

The Way of Kings
by Brandon Sanderson

Wit'ch Fire
by James Clemens

The Book of Atrix Wolfe
by Patricia A. McKillip

The Ladies of Mandrigyn
by Barbara Hambly

The Well of Ascension
by Brandon Sanderson

Steal the Dragon
by Patricia Briggs

Ombria in Shadow
by Patricia A. McKillip

The Hero of Ages
by Brandon Sanderson

When Demons Walk
by Patricia Briggs

Raven's Strike
by Patricia Briggs

The Redemption of Althalus
by David Eddings

Od Magic
by Patricia A. McKillip

The Hob's Bargain
by Patricia Briggs

Before They Are Hanged
by Joe Abercrombie

Shadows of Self
by Brandon Sanderson

The Emperor's Soul
by Brandon Sanderson

The Alloy of Law
by Brandon Sanderson

The Rithmatist
by Brandon Sanderson

by Brandon Sanderson