Login
Register
Home || Search || About us || Blog || Contact us || Other book sites

Name: The Gilded Shroud

Author: Elizabeth Bailey
Year: 1992
Rank:

Rating:

Original Rating:

Popularity: 1.4
Genres/categories: Mystery, Historical fiction, Romance, Fiction

Purchase/research links:
The perfect mix of historical murder and mystery with a hint of romance! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Barbara Erskine and Jane Austen.

When a murder is committed a lady's companion finds herself as an amateur sleuth...



1789, London

When Emily Fanshawe, Marchioness of Polbrook, is found strangled in her bedchamber, suspicion immediately falls on those residing in the grand house in Hanover Square.

Emily's husband - Randal Fanshawe, Lord Polbrook - fled in the night and is chief suspect - much to the dismay of his family.

Ottilia Draycott is brought in as the new lady's companion to Sybilla, Dowager Marchioness and soon finds herself assisting younger son, Lord Francis Fanshawe in his investigations.

Can Ottilia help clear the family name? Does the killer still reside in the house?

Or could there be more to the mystery than meets the eye...?

THE GILDED SHROUD is the first book in the Lady Fan Mystery series: historical romance murder mysteries with a courageous woman sleuth embarking on a traditional British, private investigation in eighteenth-century London.
Similar books:

The Devil's Breath
by Tessa Harris

The Bedlam Detective
by Stephen Gallagher

What Remains of Heaven
by C. S. Harris

What Darkness Brings
by C. S. Harris

Where Shadows Dance
by C. S. Harris

The Inheritance
by Charles Finch

The Woman in the Water
by Charles Finch

The Laws of Murder
by Charles Finch

A Death in the Small Hours
by Charles Finch

A Purely Private Matter
by Darcie Wilde

The Emperor's Assassin
by T. F. Banks

Behind the Shattered Glass
by Tasha Alexander

A Gentleman of Fortune
by Anna Dean

The Vanishing Man
by Charles Finch

Who Buries the Dead
by C. S. Harris

The Letter
by Kathryn Hughes

Death in Cyprus
by M. M. Kaye

The English Wife
by Lauren Willig

A Lady in the Smoke
by Karen Odden

No dark place
by Joan Wolf