Home || Search || About us || Blog || Contact us || Other book sites

Name: The Book of the Unnamed Midwife

Author: Meg Elison
Year: 2014


Original Rating:

Popularity: 1.4
Genres/categories: Award winners

Purchase/research links:
Winner of the Philip K. Dick award for Best original paperback in 2014.

Philip K. Dick Award Winner for Distinguished Science Fiction

When she fell asleep, the world was doomed. When she awoke, it was dead.

In the wake of a fever that decimated the earth's population-killing women and children and making childbirth deadly for the mother and infant-the midwife must pick her way through the bones of the world she once knew to find her place in this dangerous new one. Gone are the pillars of civilization. All that remains is power-and the strong who possess it.

A few women like her survived, though they are scarce. Even fewer are safe from the clans of men, who, driven by fear, seek to control those remaining. To preserve her freedom, she dons men's clothing, goes by false names, and avoids as many people as possible. But as the world continues to grapple with its terrible circumstances, she'll discover a role greater than chasing a pale imitation of independence.

After all, if humanity is to be reborn, someone must be its guide.
This book is part of the "The Road to Nowhere" series.
Here are some other books from this series:
The Book of Etta
, Original Star Rating:
, Adjustred Star Rating:
, Pop Rating:1.7/10
The Book of Flora
, Original Star Rating:
, Adjustred Star Rating:
, Pop Rating:1.1/10

Similar books:

The Testament of Jessie Lamb
by Jane Rogers

by Hugh Howey

by Hugh Howey

The Book of Etta
by Meg Elison

Memory of Water
by Emmi Itaranta

by Matthew Mather

Good Morning, Midnight
by Lily Brooks-Dalton

by Hugh Howey

The Last Girl
by Joe Hart

Soft Apocalypse
by Will McIntosh

Becoming Human
by Eliza Green

The Country of Ice Cream Star
by Sandra Newman

Blackfish City
by Sam J. Miller

by Anna Kavan

Blueprints of the Afterlife
by Ryan Boudinot

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
by J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
by J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
by J. K. Rowling

The Lord of the Rings
by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Last Olympian
by Rick Riordan